Intersection RAKIT in two places?

Problems? Bugs found? Questions? Please post here.

Moderator: Michal Rok

Post Reply
SAS1020
Premium User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 4:35 pm

Intersection RAKIT in two places?

Post by SAS1020 » Tue Mar 15, 2011 4:46 pm

It started off when I asked the following question at the scandinavian-va forum:
As I have no education in this area I most likely make some kind of obvious mistake, but then there's time for learning.

I'm trying to find a route between ESSA and LGZA and ended up with the following
NOSLI N850 TONSA UL87 RAKIT UM725 SPL UL862 BRD UL995 KRK UA14 ARA

When I verify that route using vroute I get:
ERROR: Unknown airway/waypoint UL87 (or RAKIT is not part of UL87, or UL87 is an airway that does not include TONSA)

To me that error initially seems obvious but when I use the latest enroute charts (EU 03N, EU 03S and EU o6N) in Navigraph to investigate the problem I'm not able to spot what I'm doing wrong. To me it seems that RAKIT is an intersection for both UL87 and UM725, but it isn't!? The same goes for TONSA, in my opinion.
HELP! :D


The first reply I got was that one of my colleagues found two RAKIT/ISECs. One in EDDB/fir with position N53 10 73 / E13 54 67 on the UL87 track and one in the URRV/fir where the track UL87 not crossing at all. He wonders if that might be the mystery and so do I. I'm out of knowledge in this area appareantly... ;)

Regards // Rikard Ståhl

SAS1020
Premium User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 4:35 pm

Re: Intersection RAKIT in two places?

Post by SAS1020 » Wed Mar 16, 2011 8:12 am

After some further investigation the RAKIT is of course in two places, that's nothing strange at all.

Still I don't figure out why it claims that RAKIT is not parto of UL87...

LOL!

As I was writing this post Navigraph just advertised a new update. Where it is clear that UL87 no longer exists in between TONSA and RAKIT. =)
Problem solved.

User avatar
Michal Rok
Five Star Club
Posts: 2445
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 4:23 pm

Re: Intersection RAKIT in two places?

Post by Michal Rok » Thu Mar 17, 2011 5:26 am

Sorry for not responding earlier, I see you figured out the problem already.

Its nothing unusual to have multiple intersections with the same name, provided they are distant enough from each other.


Michal

SAS1020
Premium User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 4:35 pm

Re: Intersection RAKIT in two places?

Post by SAS1020 » Sat Mar 19, 2011 4:50 pm

No worries. =)

Post Reply